top of page

My 'sweet sixteen' i.e. the weirdest birthday ever

My birthday is on the 11th of September, which itself is a very interesting date. Because of this Im actually kind of glad I wasn't born in America...

Anyway, this year I had probably the weirdest and at the same time one of the best birthday 'celebrations' ever. The thing is that I just moved to a completely different country and started going to a completely different school than I used to for basically my whole life. Until today, I spent exactly three days at school - Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. I had a cold the whole time and when I woke up Thursday morning the 10th and wasnt able to speak, I ended up at home, trying not to be ill. I eventually managed to start feeling better and decided that I really dont want to spend my birthday in the bed, so I went to school.

At that time I remembered about five names of my classmates, the rest were just faces which were slowly becoming familiar but I haven't actually talked to most of the people at all. I have a really bad memory when it comes to names of people, but I figured I can actually pretty easily talk to them even without that knowledge. While waiting for the train to come, I bumped into one girl from my form who wished me happy birthday. That was nice even though I'm not sure if she knows my name or even how old I was. But I didn't know any of this about her either, so it's not such big of a deal :).

I got several messages from my friends in Prague and also even from people I haven't talked to for years and who now live in different countries living different lives.

When I went to my morning registration, people kept saying Happy Birthday to me and that was actually really nice. And at the same time super weird. But then in the afternoon, people from my form gave me a small chocolate cake with some tissues so I shared that with all sixteen of them (what a coincidence :)) and they told me that now I am one of them and it was really sweet, including the cake. For your better understanding, I love food, so if someone gives me something to eat that I like, Im really happy and appreciate it probably more than I should.

Anyway... I got the cake and everything went pretty well, even though I barely knew any of those people which made it kind of weird. Then when the school ended my mom picked me up with my youngest sister (who are now the only people from my family who stayed with me in England) and we went home. There we had a very small celebration, I found the presents hidden in the garden under trees, which is almost like a family tradition and I got a camera (!!!) and some clothes to school.

I almost started to cry when we were about to eat the cake which my mom bought cause I just kept thinking about what I always imagined my 'sweet sixteen' was going to be like. I guess I have always wanted to make a big party with my friends who I know well and have fun and everything.

I think Im over it now. It wasnt really what I expected it to be but in the end it was really nice considered the situation in which I was. I never thought that people could be that nice to you even though they barely know you. And that was a really nice and unexpected present, thank you for that :).

Ellie

bottom of page